RFR12001 – Bliss Riddim (12″ vinyl)


Out of stock

SKU: rfr12001 Category:

Product Description

Roots Factory records proudly present their very first vinyl release (4 track 45rpm 12”) featuring some of the finest and most prolific musicians in the reggae scene.
The opening track is an homage to the Rastafarian faith by Ramon Judah entitled “Not Afraid”. Ramon originally hails from Liverpool where he cut his teeth on both ‘Creation’ and ‘One A Penny’ sound systems back in the 80s. He has now become a known figure on the Sound System and Roots landscape in London and beyond with tunes getting aired by the likes of Jah Shaka and mashing up dances worlwide.
Solo Banton follows with an inspiring tune called ‘Bounce Back’. (A different mix was released in 2012 on Solo’s album ‘Higher Levels’ on the Reality Shock label). This mix features live drumming performed by George Phillips and has an original roots feel. Solo Banton has been actively involved in reggae music industry for 30 years with a long career as music producer and as a soundman. He only started his career as an artist recently but has since become one of the busiest and most prolific UK artists. Solo has release many big tunes to date with artists and producers like Jahtari, Mungos Hi-Fi and Dubkasm to name a few. His lyrical content is always inspiring, uplifting and conscious.
The flip side features the talents of Ed Rieband and Dave Fullwood who offer up a very powerful and moving brass cut on trombone and trumpet respectively. Fullwood and Rieband take you on a musical journey of the bliss riddim in the aptly titled ‘Horn Bliss’. They’ve collectively been involved with the likes of Zion Train, Lee Perry and Adrian Sherwood and it truly was an honour to work with them!
The final cut is a dub version, mixed by Brigadier JC where the riddim is deconstructed and turned into something new and different. It was designed to be played on sound systems and to shake the walls of the dancehall.

Ramon Judah – Vocal (Not afraid)
Solo Banton – Vocal (Bounce back), Kete drum
Ed Rieband – Trombone (Horn bliss)
David Fullwood – Trumpet (Horn bliss)
George Phillips – Drums
Kris Kemist – Guitar, tambourine
Brigadier JC – Production and mix
Frankie Dread and Brigadier JC – Executive producers